7

American Flat Mill

The ruins of the United Comstock Merger Mill at American Flat were demolished in late 2014. This 137-node virtual-reality tour was photographed from August to December of 2014.

0

Tannehill Log Cabin

Thought to be the first house built here, around 1865, it later served as Eureka's first store. It is constructed from the pinion pines that once grew at higher elevations around the town.

0

Gold Hill Depot

The Gold Hill Depot of the V&T Railroad was completed in September 1869. The station served passengers and freight, and was also a telegraph station.

0

Headframe of the Combination Shaft

This headframe served the Combination Shaft of the Chollar-Potosi/Savage/Hale & Norcross Mines beginning in 1875. With a depth of 3,250 feet, this was the deepest shaft of the Comstock.

0

1873 Wooden Box Flume

Water was first brought to the Comstock by springs and wells. Usually, however, by autumn the water supply became insufficient. The solution brought water from high up in the Sierras.

0

Raines Market

Raines Market, housing its owner's collection of big-game animal trophies, offers a wide range of products for local residents and those passing through town.

4

Old Virginia City Jewish Cemetery

During the height of the Comstock, this cemetery served Virginia City's thriving Jewish community. When the city's population began to shrink, the cemeteries fell into disrepair.

0

Central Nevada Museum

Tonopah’s Central Nevada Museum, founded in 1981, features an outdoor exhibit including an old west town where visitors can explore miners’ cabins, a saloon, and a blacksmith shop.

0

Bucket of Blood

The Bucket of Blood, with its live music, authentic bar, and elaborate decor, is frequently voted the best rural saloon in Nevada.

0

Territorial Enterprise

Established in Genoa in 1858, the Territorial Enterprise was to become one of the most important newspapers in the early American West.

0

Mina Motel

The Silver King Cafe and Motel sits on U.S. Rt. 95 in the tiny hamlet of Mina (pop. 200) in Mineral County.

3

Werrin Building

The Werrin Building, on the south end of Virginia City, dates to 1873. John Werrin was a grocer from Cornwall, and his business stood on the edge of what was a Cornish neighborhood.

0

Tuscarora

As prospectors dispersed from Austin in 1867 they discovered rich placer sands in a place that one of the miners named Tuscarora to honor the Union gunboat on which he had served.

1

Hamilton

Once the center of a mining district of 25,000 people, Hamilton now sits deserted ten miles off Hwy. 50 in White Pine County, between Eureka and Ely.

0

Osceola

The cemetery, overlooking Spring Valley, is nearly all that remains of the mining town of Osceola, located near Great Basin National Park on the western slopes of Mt. Wheeler at 7,500 ft.

0

Ward Charcoal Ovens

In 1876 Ward was the largest town in White Pine County. The Ward ores required the high burning temperature of charcoal for milling, therefore these charcoal ovens were constructed.

0

Virginia City Cemetery

The Virginal City cemetery of today appears nothing like it did during the bonanza years of the Comstock. It was once a lush parkland, composed of more than a dozen different burial grounds.

11

Sutro Tunnel

When gushing hot water threatened the production of the deeper Virginia City mines, Adolph Sutro offered an audacious solution. He would build a tunnel from Dayton up to the Comstock’s mines.

0

Nevada Northern Railway

The Nevada Northern Railway Museum in Ely is dedicated to the restoration, preservation, interpretation, and operation of the Nevada Northern Railway's historic rail facilities.

0

Star Basque Restaurant

Pete and Mathilde Jauregui built Elko's Star Hotel at 246 Silver Street in 1910. The Star is Elko’s solitary remaining ostatu (Basque lodging).