7

American Flat Mill

The ruins of the United Comstock Merger Mill at American Flat were demolished in late 2014. This 137-node virtual-reality tour was photographed from August to December of 2014.

0

Tannehill Log Cabin

Thought to be the first house built here, around 1865, it later served as Eureka's first store. It is constructed from the pinion pines that once grew at higher elevations around the town.

0

Gold Hill Depot

The Gold Hill Depot of the V&T Railroad was completed in September 1869. The station served passengers and freight, and was also a telegraph station.

0

Headframe of the Combination Shaft

This headframe served the Combination Shaft of the Chollar-Potosi/Savage/Hale & Norcross Mines beginning in 1875. With a depth of 3,250 feet, this was the deepest shaft of the Comstock.

0

1873 Wooden Box Flume

Water was first brought to the Comstock by springs and wells. Usually, however, by autumn the water supply became insufficient. The solution brought water from high up in the Sierras.

4

Old Virginia City Jewish Cemetery

During the height of the Comstock, this cemetery served Virginia City's thriving Jewish community. When the city's population began to shrink, the cemeteries fell into disrepair.

6

The Virginia City Coach

Once the rolling home of eccentric writers Lucius Beebe and his partner Charles Clegg, the Virginia City railcar began its life in 1928 as the Pullman car Crystal Peak.

0

Central Nevada Museum

Tonopah’s Central Nevada Museum, founded in 1981, features an outdoor exhibit including an old west town where visitors can explore miners’ cabins, a saloon, and a blacksmith shop.

0

Bucket of Blood

The Bucket of Blood, with its live music, authentic bar, and elaborate decor, is frequently voted the best rural saloon in Nevada.

0

Territorial Enterprise

Established in Genoa in 1858, the Territorial Enterprise was to become one of the most important newspapers in the early American West.

0

Old Lander Co. Courthouse

Lander County’s courthouse moved around with the population. The first was in Jacobsville. But then a newly-discovered vein of silver in Austin prompted the county to move its seat to Austin.

0

Fourth Ward School

Virginia City's Fourth Ward School opened in 1877. The Fourth Ward was the largest and most advanced of several schools in the district. It is also the only one to survive.

20

Goldfield Hotel

The Goldfield Hotel opened its doors in 1908, just a couple of years before the town's mining boom was over. It was called in its day “the gem of the desert.”

0

Esmeralda Co. Courthouse

Goldfield's Esmeralda County Courthouse opened for business in 1908. Esmeralda County stretches for some 3588 sq. miles, but contains fewer than 1262 people (2006).

2

Chollar Mine

With its riches first located in 1859, the Chollar Mine (later the Chollar-Potosi) was one of the leading producers on the Comstock.

1

Eureka Opera House

The interior of the Eureka Opera House includes a well-preserved olio, or stage curtain, featuring advertisements for local businesses. The institution dates to 1874.

1

Storey Co. Courthouse

The courthouse opened in 1877. Electrification during the Great Depression left Art Deco style fixtures hanging from the high ceiling.

0

Eureka Co. Courthouse

Eureka County built its courthouse in 1879. The courtroom includes original pressed tin ceiling and wood features. An nook for the court clerk in front of the judge's bench is noteworthy.

0

Berlin Stamp Mill

Berlin-Ichthyosaur State Park is at 7,000 feet on the western slope of central Nevada's Shoshone mountain range. Berlin saw its heyday in 1908, diminishing to nothing by 1911.